Praying for the Lost and Addicted

This may be you or it may be someone you love. Or maybe you’re one of the very lucky ones who are not affected at all by drugs.

A lot of times you feel there’s no choice but to give up and walk away. But when it’s someone close to you, that’s a little harder to do. How can you walk away from your own child? You can’t, so you keep praying, but sometimes it seems to be to no avail. I’m here to tell you Dont Give Up. There is hope.

A lot of times it’s a parent, and the child grows up feeling so hurt, they walk away from that parent. I am so blessed and so incredibly thankful to have my kids in my life. In all actuality, they have every right, every reason to hate me, but they don’t. They still love me and we have rebuilt amazing relationships. That is Gods grace. And it’s available to all that love Him.

There were years that my dad and I barely spoke and I thought he had given up on me. I mean, “why not?” I thought. I had given up on myself.

Thankfully, after I stepped out of that world and he could see I was really trying hard, we made amends. I even moved in with him and my son, so that i could take care of him. I am so blessed that I got my head together and spent those last couple of years of my dad’s life with him.

At the time, I was also going to college working toward a degree in accounting. His last couple of months I never left his side, but he was adamant that I stay in school, so I was allowed to take some time out and do my studies at home. One day, as I was doing my homework, I looked up and caught him smiling at me. I asked why he was smiling and his response is something I will never forget as long as I live. It touched my heart deeply.

“I always knew you would change your life and do good for yourself and your family,” he replied. Honestly, I laughed a little because I thought he gave up on me a long time ago. “No you did not,” I laughed..

He looked at me with the most loving, yet serious look and said, “yes, I knew you would because I prayed to the good Lord for you every night and I knew He wouldn’t let me down.” That is faith and that faith saved my life.

I always knew someone was praying for me. When I think of the dangerous situations I found myself in and how far I had gone away from everyone in my life and to do a complete turn around…..I knew I was blessed with prayers. But I never imagined they were from my dad.

Just that conversation, which sadly, was one of our last, meant so much to me and kept me going through some of the more difficult times during my recovery.

So, keep praying for that loved one. As much as it hurts, dont give up, because no matter how long it might take, God can and will answer your prayer.

Father God, I pray for those who have found themselves in addiction. They need you to fill that emptiness inside them that they try to fill with drugs. For me, it was my physical pain that started it. Whatever reason one may have for their addiction, they are in some type pain. Please Father, I ask that you take away their pain and give peace and comfort to the families who are out there fighting for them each day. Thank you Lord for your amazing grace. In Jesus name. Amen.

And the prayer offered in faith will make the sick person well; the Lord will raise them up. If they have sinned, they will be forgiven. Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. James 5:15-16

No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it, 1 Corinthians 10:13

Gina Barton Sewell

Leave a comment